Suffocating

I can’t breathe. I know you’re in town and the fact that there have been no attempts to contact me from your end is a pain that is simply unbearable. It’s like I can feel my soul, my very essence, being pulled through a tiny hole that has been drilled into the pit of my stomach. Like a loose thread being pulled from my favorite sweater eventually causing me to completely unravel. I’m reduced to a pathetic pile of mess. Completely tangled, unrecognizable, and eventually will become an urban tumbleweed. So I’ve spent money I do not have to spare on a pack of smokes and a $5 bottle of wine to try and mask this horrid sinking feeling, full the emptiness…the void you’ve left me with. I know I wasn’t exactly cordial during our last verbal exchange. For that I’m sorry. If there were anything I could do to change it, I would.

I’m still so confused about how I feel. Why do I need you? Why do I feel like I’m dying? Why can’t I forget about us? I can walk away from people and never look back but why can’t I do that with you? I would do anything to see your face approach my front door but I know you’re leaving tomorrow. Hope is lost. I know you. You wouldn’t trouble yourself to make the attempt.

Just know this…I miss you. Nobody can take your place. And believe me, I’ve tried.

Love.

Leave a Reply

